Moving forward…

They say, ‘don’t tell people of your pregnancy until after 12 weeks.’ But why? Is it so expectant parents that find out their baby didn’t come to term don’t have to deal with telling people the news, “Yes, we were pregnant, but now we’re not.” Is it really better to wait until the second trimester when the risks of miscarriage drop before you share your news? What if this worst case scenario actually does happen? Who do you tell then?

After telling a few of our loss, we found others in our close circle of friends begin to open up and share with us their miscarriage ordeal. It really did help to find out that we were not alone. Hearing these stories from our friends who now have healthy children help give us hope. 

We had kept with this conventional 12 week announcement “protocol” and although we didn’t get the chance to tell many we were pregnant, we would like to share our journey of how we suddenly become ‘unpregnant.’ As personal, confronting and sensitive as the issue is, perhaps sharing our story may help with our grief. Perhaps it may help with the grief of other expectant mothers, fathers, grandfathers, grandmothers, uncles and aunts whose lives  have also been affected by this misfortune. Perhaps it may bring light to the stigma associated with miscarriage and let others know that there should be no shame in sharing their experience. Perhaps it won’t change a thing, I am simply reaching out. 

They say one in five pregnancies end in miscarriage. You would never know this until you mention your own. However, knowing these statistics don’t really help. So what will??  

I don’t believe that any first-time parent is truly ready for the way their life changes once they have kids. But psyching ourselves for this transition for twelve weeks only to be told we had miscarried at eight weeks truly has to be one of nature’s cruelest jokes. Lying in the ultrasound clinic, we were expecting to see our unborn bundle of joy. Instead, we saw unrecognizable shapes; we heard long, extended periods of silence. Then finally, those words we’ll never forget, “sorry, we can’t find a heartbeat.”

Nobody tells you about the stab to the heart you will feel when you hear those words. Or how hard it is to reach out to your family and friends to tell them the baby they were so excited about is no longer on its way. Nobody tells you how long it will be before you finally stop bursting into randomly (and sometimes inappropriately) timed floods of tears. Or when you can finally face the outside world and your responsibilities again. There’s no idea of when your appetite will get better, or when you can sleep easy again. Some say, “don’t worry… you’re still young… at least you know you can get pregnant… you can try again.”  But it is nerve-wracking even thinking about fall pregnant again. Marred with our first miscarriage, when we do decide we’re ready and fall pregnant again, we will most likely spend at least the first 12 weeks, and probably longer, worrying that our next baby may also not make it. 

They call our situation a ‘missed miscarriage.’ No symptoms of miscarriage, no bleeding, no idea that it had happened and no idea why. I still felt pregnant, or did I miss something there too? A missed miscarriage, like “sorry I missed your phonecall”… but instead, ‘sorry, your body didn’t realize your foetus had self-aborted.’ Within five days of finding out the news, I had booked myself to into hospital to have our baby scooped out of me. The ten hours my husband and I spent in that ‘day surgery’ is worthy of a separate blog post. But maybe another time. 

Since finding out the news we’ve been inundated with visits, calls and texts from our family and friends. It’s been nice, and we’re lucky to have such a strong support group. It has especially helped to keep my mind off the sadness. My husband has been my rock. We spent an entire week re-couping on the couch together. He cooks, cleans and helps wipe away my tears. I really don’t know how I could have gone through these dark days without him. 

Although it’s a part of our lives that we can never erase – when I think about it, it’s not a part I want to erase. It has been a really hard and trying time. It still is. But it has made us stronger. It has made us realise how important starting a family together really is. And though it seems that many do not talk about their miscarriage as it may be upsetting and too confronting to others, trying to ignore the subject may also make it harder to move on. This blog is not a sympathy grab. This blog is an outlet for our grief. So that anyone else out there going through the same ordeal will know that they are not alone. To let others know that they don’t need to keep it all inside. Eventually (hopefully) we all heal from this dark period of our lives. I do realise there are other parents out there who experience multiple miscarriages, stillbirths, or who simply can’t seem to be able to conceive. Our single experience in no way shuns your experience, or vice versa. We have all been struck with bad news and need to lean on one another for support. 

Everyday I have to gently remind myself that time will heal my pain. This experience and sorrow will stay with us for the rest of our lives. As the days go on, we hope this memory will be blurred with the joy of future children. But for now, we think about it everyday. 

6 thoughts on “Moving forward…

  1. Pingback: Inspiring Stories: Healing Through Sharing | The Recurrent Pregnancy Loss Blog

  2. Im sorry for your loss. I suffered multiple miscarriages. My first one was little bit over 4 years ago when i was 20 and I carried it to 13 weeks but my doctor told me that the pregnancy was dead for 6 weeks, so yes i was carrying death inside me without even knowing about it. The pregnancy was unplanned, but it still was so hearth breaking to find out my baby was dead. I was devastated and it took me long time to recover from it. Its been now 4 years now and I can’t honestly not tell you how many times I have miscarried since than. I stopped counting after 20th time. My last miscarriage was 4 months ago. And every time is the same I would feel changes in my body, I would always know when Im pregnant, but every time i take a test to make sure. And every time i test positive but few days later my period always comes. I have been with my partner for nearly a yer now and it already happened 5 times since we got together. I was scared of telling him at first of what was happening, but I couldn’t handle dealing with it on my own. So when i finally broke the silence and got courage to tell him, I was left in a complete shock by how good he took the news. I was upset by it and I couldn’t understand how can he not be as hurt as me.My life has been flipped upside down and my soul is broken because of that. And it hurt even more when I saw him acting like this is not that big of a deal for him the very next day. I don’t think he understands how heart breaking and devastating it is for me to be going through that and i don’t know if he will ever understand how badly this affects my life, how it split my heart to little pieces. Se we haven’t spoken about it since. And now Im even more scared to open up about how I feel to him. I haven’t even told my parents about it, because i feel like Im failing them by not being able to give them a grandchild. I feel so hopeless because I don’t see a point to my life anymore, I don’t know how enjoy life anymore and I don”t even know how to be happy anymore. I don’t like to be around people anymore because Im tired of putting on a brave face out of fear to make people uncomfortable. Im tired of lying to people, friends and family every time when they ask me about children, by saying “Im not ready yet to have kids” or “I still have time” I know that miscarriage is very common, but unfortunately it is a still a taboo, and people don’t really want to talk about it. Nobody wants to hear people complaining or hear about their pain.I don’t want to hear another “Don’t worry you are still young ,It will come”, they don’t know that, unless they have magic wand that will heal me , they are not allowed to say that to me. I can’t even tell u how many times i heard ” Stop crying about it, Im sure this problem can be fixed” , and yeas today there is plenty of options and treatments for infertility, but sadly there is no cure for miscarriage.I want to scream at people that say ” I know this is hard but its not the end of the world” well for me it is!!!!. Im so tired of pretending that Im ok, when Im not and I never will be ok with this. I know that I will never have a chance to be a mother. I will never be able to accept that instead of feeling life growing inside me, all I feel is death.I will never go trough the excitement of feeling the first kick, seeing my baby’s heartbeat or the excitement of picking out the name, and wont ever experience or feel this beautiful and unconditional love that every mother have for their children. All i feel is this void inside me that I know I will never be able to fill with anything else. And every time it happens I feel like Im loosing this huge part off me that can never be replaced. I hate myself so much, i hate the fact that my body is killing my baby and I can’t do anything about it, I feel like its all my fault , like Im just not good enough to be a mother. Every day just gets harder to face. People say that time heals all, but i don’t think this pain and misery is ever going away , this is all i can think about every minute of every day and I just want to cry scream so bad. I look at pictures of my sisters beautiful daughters, and I love them so much, but im aslo so angry at her for having something I probably never, does that that make me a bad person, because it makes me feel like a monster for feeling this way. Im just so scared of the fact that I might never will have a family and happy relationship because of that. I look at the men I love every day and its just reminds me that Im not able to give him family, and it hurts so much knowing that I have lost every single one of our children, that I could’t keep them alive inside me. And it makes me question myself “will I ever get over this?” or ” will i ever have relationship without feeling like failure to my self and the loved one?”, “will the fear of getting pregnant again ever go away?”. I’ve tryed every possible way and step to help me grieve and get over this and It help the first time, and the second time It helped a bit less, and every time helped less and less until i got to a breaking point when I can’t cope anymore and i have lost every bit of hope i have left in me. I know that Im not alone, and there so many women that are suffering the same pain as I do, but this is still very isolating and lonely experience for me.

  3. Hi Anna,

    I am so sorry to hear of your multiple losses. I commend you for your strength in surviving over 20 miscarriages. I can’t even begin to fathom what you have been through. Please don’t blame yourself for what has happened. As heart-breaking as it is, you are truly not at fault. I understand how going through the loss of a miscarriage really robs you of your self-confidence as a woman and of the love of your own skin. It really sucks.

    It has been several months now since our miscarriage. Sometimes, when I am alone with my thoughts I think of my ‘what-ifs.’ Like how I would have been 6 months along now, or busy preparing baby rooms. It is hard to not feel sad sometimes or remember our loss, especially while many of our friends slowly fall successfully pregnant.

    I feel that making our journey public – through this blog and and a link to it via Facebook – really helped me in dealing with the situation. It was not an easy thing to make public – and I made myself open to criticism and judgement. Maybe I made some uncomfortable with a subject so confronting and still ‘taboo’ – but sometimes you have to stop thinking about what others may think, and start thinking about your own health and well-being.

    Don’t be afraid to share your ordeal with your parents and close friends. Sharing my emotions really helped me to slowly moving on and get out of the house. Not to mention, a few boozey nights in between have helped too.

    In the end, I had much positive feedback from sharing our story – and still do. Thank you for sharing your story. Keep strong.

    xxx

  4. Thank you for your reply. I have written my story on so many blogs in hope that I will find someone to talk to, Someone that knows and understands what Im going trough. And you have been a first person that have replied. When I read your message, I don’t know why but i cried. Maybe it was tears of relief, knowing that someone out there have heard me, someone really listened without judging me. It feels like this heavy chain that I have had wrapped around me for so long has loosen up a bit because I finally stopped pretending that Im ok and let someone know how i really feel. I know that letting a stranger know about isn’t the same as letting loved ones know, but its just seemed so much easier to let it all out this way. . I always had a hard time with opening up to people and letting them in, especially people that i love and care about. I guess I was trying to protect myself this way or hoped that if wont talk about it and ignore the problem, it will finally go away. I still don’t know how to tell my loved ones what is happening, Im so scared of hurting them, im afraid of them judging me and I don’t want to reflect the pain that Im going through on them

Leave a comment